cannot delete graphs/charts

rmet0815

22-03-2004 06:44:23

Dear all,

I have the problem, that charts who up when i select the graphs under "device tree -> device (graph icon)", but these charts do not show up in the "maintenance" section (groups -> device group -> monitored devices -> subdevices -> System) (not in "system" nor in other subdevices"). Thus, i cannot delete them.

I think this "problem" happend the following way I added the charts via the templates but added the same twice (or even more). Then I deleted them again, but some are still poping up in the display. Maybe its a problem with time or so...

How to solve this? It would be great if there is a delete option when viewing the chart, thus (another option in "show histor", "dissect", "advance" maybe "delete").

Hope this all makes sense.

Cheerio
/rudy

rmet0815

22-03-2004 07:46:19

Another strange thing (which could be the same source)

If i try to delete a graph/chart, which already contains data, I get a broken link, like http//somehost/netmrg/enclose_graph.php?type=template&id=2&subdev_id=14 (i changed my host to somehost).

Cheerio
/rudy

balleman

22-03-2004 08:30:19

For the first problem

After you click on the graph icon on the device tree, you go to a "view" page. The bottom of that page should have an [b8c6501baf9]Edit[/b8c6501baf9] link, which will let you manage the contents of the page.

Hopefully this will fix your second issue as well. It sounds like you deleted monitors that a graph template was depending on, therefore breaking it. You should be able to remove the broken template using the above.

rmet0815

22-03-2004 08:46:54

Yup, that fixed it! Thanx alot again, I know i am stupid ) Just one remark It would be could if you have this "delete" option on the grafic, because "normally" you do not immediately know the name of the chart you want to delete. If you then can click on the broken link (aka broken image) and can delete it there, it is much easier. But that's just a nice to have really.

And yuppers, i really deleted the monitor on which the graph depended. Wouldn't it be an option that when deleting a monitor all graphs are automically deleted as well (I mean, they end up broken anyway). Again, this is a nice to have )

Another strange thing that happend is, that I managed it somehow that I added one monitor to the my host and then i had 3 graphs based on this monitor (CPU utilization). I think i did this by adding the default template 3 times (in the "apply template to...") menu. Shouldnt this then show up as 3 monitors with 3 independant graphs? should this be possible at all? When i then deleted the monitor i broke all 3 graphs (which i understand now why this happens). Can it be that you add the monitor once and the graphs 3 times, based on the same mintor. Anyway, its not a big thing now I understand how i can solve this. And i dont have enough history to lose something )

But, great application you developped there!!! I am really using it alot now and it helps alot! Good work man!

Cheerio
/rudy